fbpx


The NHL rescinded Mika Zibanejad’s penalty against Dallas

6:48PM: Zibanejad spoke after practice today and said (NYR):

  • “I’m trying to get in front of him and get the puck and it’s unfortunate how he went down, I thought he hit his head on the ice which is why I stayed. I wanted to make sure he was okay, I didn’t think it was from the bump but you can’t change it right now. They got together and made a decision, obviously not happy with it but nothing I can do anything about it now. Just disappointing but I can’t control it now, just focus on the next game. It wasn’t really explained in a way I could accept it.

6:13PM: The NHL has rescinded the match penalty given to Mika Zibanejad in the third period of last night’s Ranger loss to Dallas.

Zibanejad was assessed a five-minute major for boarding and was ejected after a play with Radek Faksa in the corner.



David Quinn said after last night’s game, “well the linesman called it, he felt that he him in the head. That was the call and explanation I got and we had to kill a five minute major.” (MSG)

Quinn said on Wednesday that the Rangers “lead the league” in apologies. (Stephenson)

A referee apologized to Quinn earlier in the season for another penalty on Zibanejad.